A Love Without Numbers

1 Corinthians 13:13 So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

If I could measure my love for you in numbers, I would count hundreds of I love yous, thousands of snuggles, and millions of sleepy smiles.

If I could measure my love for you in time, I would count the seconds of your first steps, the minutes it took you to get off of your first school bus, and the hours we spend together and apart.

If I could measure my love for you in weight, I would use the weight on my heart as it breaks slowly, watching as you grow up.  I would use the heaviness you feel on your shoulders, as you change from my little boy to a young man.

I could never fully measure my love for you. It’s an impossible love. It’s fierce and it’s steadfast. It’s a love without numbers. A love without boundaries. A love unable to be counted. I hope you know how much love I hold for you. How much devotion I carry in my heart for you. Even as I tearfully and bravely watch you step out into this world.

And those steps keep getting bigger.

And I know one day they will keep going.

But the love will still be there. It will still be growing, as bold as ever, never stopping.

It will still be a love without numbers.

It will still be a love unable to be measured.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Love Without Numbers

Leave a Reply

