Strongest

1 Corinthians 1:25 
For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.

 

Eli wants nothing more than to be the strongest and fastest kid around. In fact, he bases a lot of who he is on these two things.   He doesn’t want anyone to be faster. He doesn’t  want anyone to be stronger. Eli has to be the best.

To him, these are the things that matter most. Worldly things like winning the most races and having the most muscles (and making the most people laugh) are important to him. He has yet to learn the only thing that really matters in this ever changing world is his identity in Christ alone.

As he grows older I pray he learns to put JC as his number one. No matter who might be the fastest, the strongest, or the funniest. I pray Eli will take comfort in knowing that as long as he is living in Christ,  nothing else really matters.

I pray this for myself as well.  I  base my identity on worldly things. I can get caught up in labels and appearances just as much as my 9 year old son does.

But, at the end of the day, my center needs to be with Jesus.

I was reminded of this as I read Corinthians this morning. Reminded that the weakness of God is stronger than any human strength.

No matter how insecure I might be feeling. I can still count on His power to lift me up to the highest ground.

Because even at my weakest,  I am still the strongest.

And my strength can only be found in Jesus Christ.

 

One thought on “Strongest

Leave a Reply

