Fan Wars

Ephesians 4:2-3 Be completely humble and gentle; Be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the spirit through the bond of peace. 

Every evening, Landon and I participate in what I like to call The Fan Wars. The never ending battle we have about whether the fan should be on or off in our bedroom.  He wants the fan on.  I want it off. If he leaves the room, I sneak quietly over to the switch and turn it off. Sometimes he notices right away.  Other times it takes him a few minutes.

It’s one of those things in our marriage that we just can’t compromise on. He gets hot (blah) and I hate moving air. So every night it’s a fight. It’s groaning and eye rolling and griping.

Marriage can be a never ending battle if you let it. After all, we are all sinners who tend to want to do things our own way. I want the fan off because it’s uncomfortable to me. He wants it on because he is uncomfortable. Compromising is not something we jump up and down to do. As sinners we tend to think our way is the best way.  We  don’t understand when others don’t think like we do. (What’s wrong with them?) And sometimes we are hardest on the people we are closest too.

Life can harden you. And marriage and children and work problems and life in general can make you a little less sweet. Ephesians tells us to be humble and gentle to those we love, while also reminding us to be  patient and  bearing.  Sometimes those things are really difficult for me.  I don’t want to be humble all of the time. I want it to be all about me. I want to be right and I want things done my way.

When you put Jesus in the center of your marriage, it suddenly isn’t all about you.  It’s about having a marriage that glorifies Him. That means compromise. That means being humble and patient and bearing.

It means loving your spouse so deeply that it makes Jesus smile from ear to ear.

Even when you really want to turn that fan off.

One thought on “Fan Wars

  1. Yeh, giving in and compromising is very difficult. We have done pretty good with that recently because when we both feel that nagging emotion of ME first!! we have begun to go straight to Jesus first….

    Like

Leave a Reply

