Come Here

1 Corinthians 13:13 So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

Every night, without fail, after Brady has said his prayer and  received his hug and kiss, he stops me for one more thing at the door.

“Come here.” he says in his sweet little voice. He just has to have one more mom snuggle and kiss before he can go to sleep. Just one and then he will drift off into dreamland.

I wait for those two little words now as my hand reaches for the doorknob. I know they are coming and every time I hear them my heart melts just a little bit more.

Brady will be eleven this year and I know the “come heres” are numbered. I know the nighttime kisses and snuggles are nearing to an end.  The nights he wants to talk my ear off about basketball and his friends and more basketball will soon fade away.

My sweet little boy will grow into a young man who is fine with putting himself to bed. One who doesn’t need to tell his Mom everything.

I will miss the “Come heres” and I will miss my little boy. As eager as I am to watch him grow into the man he will someday be, my heart will hurt for the little chipmunk that loves his mother unconditionally. I sometimes feel as if it may shatter into a million pieces.

Thankfully, there is someone who will never leave me. One who will always want me around. One who will never break my heart.

The Lord’s love for us is greater than any other. Scripture tell us it’s everlasting, it’s steadfast, and  it’s higher than the heavens. We may feel as if the whole world is against us yet, His love will always remain.

His arms will always be open.

And  He will never stop saying “Come here.”

 

Leave a Reply

