The Skip in My Step

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

I spend a lot of time with kindergartners. Those sweet little faces brighten up my world every time I see them skipping down the hallway every morning. And they skip a lot. Everywhere. All of the time. Kindergartners don’t walk if they don’t have to. It’s much more fun to go through life with a skip and a jump. Sometimes alone or sometimes holding a friend’s hand. That’s just how they roll.

And everything excites a five year old. Whether it’s pizza for lunch, a surprise story time, or a trip to the treasure box, everything is amazing, magical, and totally awesome.

I don’t know when it wears off but it does after a certain age. It’s no longer cool to skip and it’s certainly not cool to hold your friend’s hands. By the time kids become teenagers, there is not much that is amazing, magical, or even close to being totally awesome.

It’s hard to recreate the same joy you had at five. This harsh world will wear that skip out of your step. All of a sudden it’s gone and we don’t know how to get it back. We try really hard to find it though.  We pursue and chase idols we think will give us the same kind of joy, only to be endlessly disappointed when they don’t.  We search and we search until, one day, we realize there is only one person who can bring us our joy back.

I remember when I accepted Jesus Christ into my heart how I suddenly felt five years old again.

My searching ended immediately.

The joy in my heart had returned.

Along with the skip in my step.

 

 

One thought on “The Skip in My Step

Leave a Reply

