Taco Dip

Genesis 4:7 
If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”

My father in law, hands down, makes the best taco dip in the whole world. It’s so deliciously scrumptious, my mouth starts watering just thinking about it. He made some a few weeks ago for a baby shower and after the shower I put the leftover dip in the fridge to snack on.

And snack on it I did.

Every chance I could get, I would sneak off to the kitchen, grab a handful of tortilla chips, and dig into that dip. In fact, I think every time my husband saw me last week, I was munching on that dip. Eating that taco dip was the first thing I thought about when I got home.

I just kept wanting more and more of it and I couldn’t help myself because it tasted so good.  It quickly became an obsession.

Sin can be like that taco dip. First you taste just a little bit and then, in the blink of an eye, you can’t stop. It quickly becomes something you want to try more and more of. Soon, it’s the first thing you think about and, eventually, the only thing you think about.

In Genesis, God tells Cain that sin is crouching at his door if he does not do what is right

He tells him Sin desires to have him but he must rule over it.

I’m grateful that taco dip ran out by the end of the week. Sometimes we aren’t that lucky with our sin. Sometimes we have to throw that dip out well ahead of time. Sometimes we have to not even open it up.

We must rule over our sin in whatever way we can think of.  We must put on the full armor of God to help us turn away from it.

Because it is always crouching. It’s always lurking.

It’s always ready to be opened.

One thought on “Taco Dip

Leave a Reply

