Coming Home

Acts 2:42 And they devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and the fellowship, to the breaking of bread and the prayers.

Unless you have been living in a hole then you have heard about the new Wegman’s opening today in Midlothian. I’m not knocking it. I’m really not. I want to go try out their cookie bar too. The inside looks absolutely beautiful. It doesn’t even look like a grocery store. I’m assuming that’s what Wegman’s is going for. An experience that transforms the lackluster chore that grocery shopping is and makes people come out in droves.

There were actually traffic jams trying to get into the parking lot of the Wegman’s this morning. Can you imagine traffic jams of people trying to get into the church parking lot? People so excited about spending time with Our Father that it caused traffic to back up?

I just wish people would get as excited about worshiping Jesus as they are about the newest Richmond grocery store.

I was one of those people for the longest time. Trust me, my husband had to drag my butt to church. I would think of any excuse I could think of. I had a long week. I was tired. I just wanted to be alone.

But spending time with Jesus should never feel like a chore.  Spending time with Jesus should be what we want to do all of the time.

Every single day.

In the church. And outside of the church.

You just have to let Jesus take over.

Once Jesus changes you from the inside out, then spending time with Him becomes way better than anything else you want to do. You need it. You crave it. You want to worship Him as much as possible.

And spending time with other believers doesn’t feel like a duty.

It feels like coming home.

Leave a Reply

