Little Flies

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

Ugh flies. I can’t stand it when they sneak their way into the house. They buzz all around, as they annoyingly  flutter around from one thing to another.  You swat at them over and over again and, no matter how many times you try, you just can’t seem to stop them.

Lately, negative thoughts have been sneaking their way into my brain like those horrid little pests. And just like with the flies, no matter how many times I swat at them to go away, they just keep coming back.

Feelings of inadequacy seem to be what The Devil likes to use in my head the most. He loves to set up shop in my brain and tell me over and over again that I’m not good enough or  smart enough to ever accomplish my goals.  He flutters around in my thoughts, whispering in my ear, telling me I will never achieve what I want to achieve.

Negative thoughts have no place in our heads, especially when The Holy Spirit has already made Himself at home in our soul. Whether it be insecurity, jealousy, bitterness, or hate; we shouldn’t allow Him to be a part of of all that negative thinking. Instead, as Paul reminds us in Philippians, we must replace our thoughts with a more pure and noble type of thinking.

No one wants to hear a fly buzzing around all day and we don’t want our Lord to hear the buzzing of our negative thoughts either. When those pesky buggers come into our mind, we need to swat them out; replacing them with the power of His mighty Word instead.

His armor is always the best defense.

Leave a Reply

