Picture Perfect

Psalms 127:3 Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD,
The fruit of the womb a reward.

I woke up this morning to my sweet boys showering me with cards and gifts and love. It was a wonderful Mother’s Day morning and I felt so blessed to be the mother of my two sweet little chipmunks.

It was all fine and dandy until my angels had to do something they didn’t feel like doing.

The boys and I were also scheduled to go to a photo shoot this am for an article that I recently completed. This naturally was not on their list of fun things to do. I did naively think they wouldn’t complain too much because it was, after all, Mother’s Day.

Yeah I was wrong.

From the moment they had to get ready, they fought me. They fought me on what shirts to wear, what pants to wear and what shoes to wear. They fought me on brushing their teeth and their hair. The clock was ticking down and we were getting ready to be late.

I am fully aware of what puts me over the edge as a parent. I don’t like wet towels on the floor. I don’t like the toilet seat being left up. I don’t like cartons of ice cream left out on the counter for hours on end. However, nothing turns me into a raving lunatic as quickly as being late does.

Well..the raving lunatic emerged at about 8:31 am. We were scheduled to be at the shoot at 9 am, 30 minutes from our house and Eli was still griping about what shoes he had to wear. I think I grew horns and the end result was I drove to the photo shoot on Mother’s Day morning with two crying boys in the backseat, feeling like the worst mother ever.

But we made it to the shoot and the photographer took some beautiful pictures of a mother and her children. We looked so happy. Like the perfect little family.

That’s the funny thing about pictures. They can make everything look perfect. They don’t always get the dirty, the gritty, the messy. Pictures are a moment in time.

And that’s what motherhood is. It’s full of crying and sickness and sleepless nights and constant worrying. It’s mostly a big hot mess with just little tiny snapshots of the perfect moments.

But oh those perfect moments. Those moments are the ones we savior. The ones we tuck into our brains to remember forever. The sleepy smiles, the snuggles, the wet kisses. The moments when you think your heart might truly burst.

Those moments make the awful ones OK.

Looking back, I probably won’t remember the fight we had on our way to take the pictures. The screaming, the yelling, the crying. They will fade into the background. But I will remember their little arms around my shoulders as we smiled for the camera.  I will remember when they told me they were sorry. I will remember the smiles on their faces when we got a treat afterwards.

I will choose to remember the snapshots.

One thought on “Picture Perfect

Leave a Reply

