The Wrong Places

Proverbs 8:17 “I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me.”

My boys absolutely hate to look for things. Their clothes, their shoes, their video games, their homework, for some reason it’s like they all have magical feet. If it is not right in front of their faces, then they don’t want to put in any extra effort to find it. Sometimes, they will purposely check in the wrong places so they can say how they “tried” to look for it.  No, your shoes are not going to be in the food pantry. No, your homework is not going to be in the bathroom.

It drives me bananas.

I think I look in the wrong places sometimes too. Well, probably most of the time really. I look in the wrong places for my joy, for my security, for my contentment. I think a new bag, or a new job, or a new friend is going to somehow provide me with what I have been missing. Instead  of running towards Jesus for my peace, I try everything but Him. I look in the pantry instead of in the bathroom and in the bathroom instead of the pantry.

Why is it so hard for us to find the one who created us? We become so blinded by our own selfish needs and desires that we can’t see past ourselves. We want what we want.  If Jesus doesn’t fit into that well then- too bad. We want to feel loved. We want to feel accepted. We want to feel needed.

We can’t see what’s right in front of us.

When you accept Jesus into your heart, He gifts you with something amazing. He gives you everything you will ever need. He is our provider and our comforter. He accepts all of the bad and all of the good parts about us. We don’t have to look for our joy anywhere else.

Stop looking in the wrong places. Spend time in prayer and time in the Word. Fill your mind with thoughts about Him. Spend time with other believers. Spend time praising our Creator.

Start looking in the right places.

Pantry included.

 

One thought on “The Wrong Places

Leave a Reply

