Closet Cleaning

Psalms 145:18 The LORD is near to all them that call on him, to all that call on him in truth.

I was a woman on a mission today. My boys didn’t particularly enjoy spending their last day of Spring Break cleaning out their rooms but it had to be done. We had certainly put it off long enough. Their closets, in particular, were driving me crazy. I couldn’t even open them without toys and clothes and basketballs falling down on me.

So they hemmed and hawed but we (who am I kidding? mostly me) buckled down and got it done. The end result, nice clean rooms and organized closets. Junk was thrown out to the dumpster and I could walk into their rooms without fear of hurting myself.

Cleaning is not my favorite thing to do. I am much more of a Type B, it’s fine, just relax type of person. But I will admit wholeheartedly, having things organized, feels really, really good. Decluttering makes me feel even better. Tossing out junk is so liberating.

Think about all of the junk we fill ourselves up with, whether it’s feelings (jealousy, anxiety, fear, distrust, etc.) or distractions (demanding jobs, awful spending habits, out of control eating, social media addictions, gossip , bad relationships, etc.) When we can take a step back, breathe, reassess, and start cleaning  out the junk, we finally get a chance to think about what we really need.

After I cleaned out my own closet the other day, I decided to turn part of it into my own personal War Room. If you have not seen the movie, it’s a room dedicated to your personal time with God. It’s where you go to talk to Him, pray to Him, and listen to Him. After I cleaned out the boy’s closets today, they asked if I could make part of their closets into their own mini- War Rooms. They were so excited to have their own personal place to talk to God. (Mom’s heart officially melted for sure).

We also need to clear out the junk within ourselves so we can have a space talk to Him. We need to clear out the junk so we can have a space pray to Him. We need to clear out the junk so we can have a space to hear Him.

What junk is cluttering up your closets right now? What do you need to move to the side? What do you need to throw out completely? He’s ready and waiting. Eager to listen. Eager to speak with you. Eager to be with you completely.

You just might need to make some room for Him.

 

Leave a Reply

