My Team

It’s college basketball playoff season and I am loving every second of it. I was never a sporty kind of girl until I had two basketball playing fanatic sons and was forced to get on board the basketball train.  The writer in me loves the dramatic plays that happen in every game.  The bounce passes and the steals and the buzzer beaters get me yelling and jumping almost as loudly as my boys.  Yet, that’s not all that I love. It’s more than just that. It’s the teamwork that goes into playing a game, the camaraderie, the digging in to get it done and the perseverance. It’s all such a metaphor for life.

I don’t play basketball very well. My sons won’t even let me  play with them most of the time. Mommy gets to sit on the sidelines and watch from her seat in the driveway and I’m OK with that. I will never be part of a basketball team. I will probably never be part of any sports team.

There is, however, another team I  belong to.

Things changed in my life almost exactly a year ago. I finally decided to stop doing things my own way and to start listening to God.   I decided,as my favorite bible verse says “To be still,” and began following God instead of running from Him.

But God knew I couldn’t do it alone.

Nobody can do it alone. God created us to have fellowship with each other and to encourage each other daily. He created us to break bread together and to study the word.

Together.

My teammates are a fellowship of believers God has placed in my life to help me along this crazy path of life.  They throw me my bounce passes and help get me to the bucket. They support me at the free throw line and cheer me along from the sidelines.

My teammates are my church family.

And this team is phenomenal.

I didn’t understand it until I was a part of one, but now I get it. I understand what God meant when he spoke about a Fellowship of Believers. We were created to be together. We were created to encourage each other and to worship Him together. To get each other’s rebounds and to pick each other up off of the floor.

Thank you Jesus for my team. Thank you for this wonderful body of believers. We might not win every game but that’s OK, we have already won the biggest battle.

We are already champions in your eyes.

Acts 2:42-47 The Fellowship of the Believers
42 They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. 43 Everyone was filled with awe at the many wonders and signs performed by the apostles. 44 All the believers were together and had everything in common. 45 They sold property and possessions to give to anyone who had need. 46 Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, 47 praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.

 

 

One thought on “My Team

Leave a Reply

