Polka Dot Vest

2 Corinthians 5:20  We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.

I have this vest. It has blue and white  polka dots on it and, apparently, I wear it a lot.  I wear it so much, in fact, that on two separate occasions, in two different grocery stores, I have run into the same woman  while sporting the vest. And on those same two times, I have spoken to the woman completely out of the blue about something and then we have talked about my vest. In fact, I saw the woman a third time a few weeks ago (in the grocery store) and she was sporting the same vest in a different color.

She really liked my vest too.

I didn’t speak to her the third time though. I was in a hurry, rushing and worrying about something not really all that important and I turned the other way when I saw her.

I regretted it almost instantly.

I regretted it because I feel as if there is some reason God keeps putting this woman in my path.

It can’t just be the polka dot vests.

In Sunday School this morning, my husband spoke about how many Christians have trouble wearing our faith out in the open. We have a a hard time wearing our Christianity on our sleeves. We don’t mind wearing other things that showcase our favorite sports teams or our favorite colleges or even where we might be employed, but wearing our Christianity out in the open, in front of non-believers and those who might judge, well that’s a different story.

We don’t want people to look at us differently. We don’t want people to judge us before they know us. We don’t want people to think we are being too “preachy.” We avoid saying things about Jesus in front of these types of people too. We don’t want them to think they have to act differently around us. So for many of us (me included) keep our mouths closed and our sleeves covered up.

Take my polka dot vest lady, for instance. I know the Holy Spirit is telling me to share my love of Christ with her. To maybe invite her to church or to pray with her about something. And what did I do when I had the chance to do that? I turned the other way. I kept on walking, telling myself I didn’t have time at that moment because I was too concerned with something that was really not important at all.

2 Corinthians 5:20 tells us to be ambassadors for Christ. God uses us as vessels to make his appeal. We are called to wear our Christianity on our sleeves and to be the light in this very dark world.

I know I will see my polka dot vest lady again. It’s bound to happen. God has put her in my path for a reason.

And when I do see her, I will be ready.

Sleeves showing and all.

One thought on “Polka Dot Vest

Leave a Reply

