Disappointment

Psalms 42:11 – Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

I have trouble spelling the word disappointment..is it one s? one p? two s’s? two p’s? I can’t ever get it right. Spelling has never been my strongest feature. Yet, while I might have trouble spelling the word disappointment, I certainly don’t have trouble feeling it. I can become disappointed in a heartbeat. Take last night for example.  I came home after a very, very long day (a flat tire an hour from home was involved) and was so looking forward to my favorite dish of baked ziti from our local Italian place. My husband had picked it up for me and my mouth was practically watering when I tore into the container. I couldn’t believe my eyes when all I saw was a bowl of noodles and some tomato sauce.

Disappointment arrived instantly.

Who eats just noodles and plain tomato sauce? Besides a 6 year old?

Oh and not only was I disappointed.. I was mad.

My poor family had to listen to me complain about noodles and sauce for about five minutes until they finally told me to just get over it. Grumbling, I added some cheese from the fridge (still not the same) and moved on.

Eventually.

This past week I have had several conversations with friends and family members who have been disappointed in another person, or in an event, or even a circumstance that is currently happening in their lives. We tend to have such high expectations for people and things and then, when the cheese isn’t on the ziti, we lose it. We want everything to happen just as we imagined them! We want people to behave just as we planned. Isn’t that how it should be?

As I grow stronger  in my walk, I am learning we are always going to be let down by the someones or the somethings of this world. It’s human nature to be disappointed and it’s also human nature to disappoint another person.

We are all sinners living in a sinful world. Disappointment comes with the territory.

There is only one person who we won’t ever be disappointed with.  When we start following Jesus’s path, and stop putting everything we have into other people, or into jobs, or into events out of our control, then we can learn to handle our disappointment in more appropriate (non-temper tantrum throwing) ways.

We can give it all to God and move forward. No bitterness. No disappointment. Clean hearts all of the way.

I can even try and forget about my baked ziti without the cheese.

 

 

One thought on “Disappointment

Leave a Reply

