Just Like My Dad

All this also comes from the Lord Almighty, whose plan is wonderful, whose wisdom is magnificent. Isaiah 28:29

I lost my father three years ago today. I miss him every time I think of a good meal, a good football game, and a good action movie. I miss him when my youngest son makes friends with a complete stranger and when my oldest son talks my ear off about a basketball player. He was far from the perfect father, but he was still my father.  He loved Jesus and for that I will be forever grateful. I am grateful because I know I will see my dad again. I know he  believed with all of his heart that Jesus died for him and he accepted Jesus as his Lord and Savior. My dad might have been fighting the devil off at every single corner, but I know this much to be true- when he left this world, my dad went right into the arms of Our Father.

A Father who lifted the addiction.

A Father who let him walk again without support.

A Father who forgave him of his sins.

When I spoke at my father’s funeral, I described his life as a roller coaster ride. It was full of many ups and downs and countless twists and turns. When he passed away, he didn’t have to hold on for dear life anymore. He didn’t have to plunge down into the darkness. He could finally just breathe and relax in the light.

I lost my father three years ago today. I miss him all of the time. But I take comfort in knowing where he is. I take comfort in knowing he is with Our Father. Knowing he is no longer suffering, no longer fighting endless battles.

No longer in pain.

And I know he is smiling down at me. Grinning and shaking his head as he watches me grow in my own walk with the Lord.

God’s plans our not always our plans. If I could have planned out my life, I would still have my father here. But I am not the author of my story.

Jesus is.

I can’t wait to look back and read the finished product. I can’t wait to be amazed at how it all worked out; just as He planned.  I will probably be smiling and shaking my head too.

Just like my dad.

 

 

 

One thought on “Just Like My Dad

  1. He left this world a believer and you can trust that he is doing well in the kingdom of our Father. There were many struggles through it all but in the end Christ overcame the demons. I love you very much and I am thankful that you carry on with his good qualities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

