A New Kind of Craving

My cat Ali loves to spend my Bible time with me every morning. She jumps up on my dining room table purring and circling, trying to get as close to me as she physically can. This usually means she will  lay right on top of my bible, curled up in a little ball, waiting for me to pet her.

I think she is drawn to the softness of the Bible pages. They are cool and delicate and she could lay on them all day.Most mornings, I have to gently nudge her to the side so I can finish reading my verses.

I wish I craved being in the Word like my Ali Cat craves being on top of it.  I should never want to be apart from it either.  While there are many mornings I wake up and can’t wait to open it up, there are just as many other mornings when I am preoccupied with a million other things. A million other things that are just not as important as reading the most important words every written.

Let me be so into my Bible that it will cause others to wonder about its importance. They will want to nudge me over to the side so they  can marvel at its enduring  greatness.

Lord help me to crave it not just in the mornings but throughout the day as well. Help me to cast aside all of the non-significant things that take up my time and, instead, allow me to place Your Word at the center of my needs and wants.

I want to curl up in my Bible, feel its softness and let the Word comfort and revive my soul.

You are my refuge and my shield;
I have put my hope in your word.
Psalm 119:114

 

Leave a Reply

