Open Doors

I was heading into class tonight and passed an open elevator door. The elevator was just sitting there. Almost like it was waiting for me to get on it. Normally, I take the stairs up to class but, since the door was already open, I walked inside the elevator.

I pressed number 2 and waited. And… waited some more.

The doors wouldn’t close.

Then I started hearing weird mechanical noises.

I started to think the elevator was not really waiting for me. I think it was actually broken.

How many times have you gone through an open door in your life to find out it wasn’t actually leading you anywhere?

Have there been times in your life where all of the planets seemed aligned? Everything you have always wanted, always dreamed about is really happening?

Then it all turns out to be a disaster.

As I get a little older (and hopefully a little bit wiser) I have realized just because a door is open doesn’t mean it’s waiting for me to go through it.

I spent a huge part of my earlier years just barging through those open doors, never taking the time to stop and listen  to what He really wanted me to do.

Now I can’t get Him out of my head. The closer I grow towards Him, the louder His voice becomes.

I’m thankful I don’t have to navigate this crazy world without Him anymore. I’m blessed to have Jesus as my center and as my compass.

Always pointing me towards the right door.

Psalm 43:3 O send out Your light and Your truth, let them lead me; Let them bring me to Your holy hill And to Your dwelling places.

One thought on “Open Doors

Leave a Reply

