The Bread of Life

I have been putting off participating in the mad dash to the store for bread and milk as we anxiously await our upcoming snowstorm. I can’t deal with the long lines or frenzied people elbowing each other for the last loaf of bread. Central Virginians get a little crazy when we hear snow is coming.

Tonight, as we count down the hours for the flakes, I hold a few precious friends near and dear to my heart. These kind souls  are  all going through their own personal storms as they deal with very sick parents. Not only are they under an enormous amount of stress but  they must also  take care of their own families, while putting on a brave face for the rest of the world.

I found it fitting this morning, as bread was being cleared from grocery shelves and prayers were being said for these sweet friends, that my bible reading turned to the Bread of Life.

When we are going through life’s real storms, the ones that tear at us from the inside, deep into our hearts and souls, we need a different kind of bread. We need the bread that will comfort us. Bread that will help us get through the storm.

We will make it just find through this snow storm. Bread or not, it will be OK.

But I’m not sure how you can make it through any of the real storms without Jesus.

Prayers are with my dear friends tonight as they ride out these storms. Praying for Jesus to cover them from the hurt and from the pain and from the worry.

Praying His bread will keep them steady as He leads them through the mess and out of the storm.

 John 6:35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.

 

 

Leave a Reply

