Hot Tubs

It felt like negative six degrees outside. All I wanted to do was get as warm as possible. The boys and I were spending the day at an indoor water park and the thought of submerging myself in cold water made my entire body shiver.

The large hot tub  looked like it might be my ticket to coziness. It looked warm and, although it was streaming with grown ups and kids coming in and out, I thought I might be able to relax for a little bit and get warm.

Sadly, once I entered, I realized immediately that the water was not an ideal temperature. It wasn’t a hot tub at all. Just a pool of water, not too cold, not too hot, and it was filled to the brim with people.  I couldn’t even sit down. For some reason, this pool was the place to be.

I hopped out and gave up on my search for warmth. I joined the rest of the masses and got into the cold water. It wasn’t until I was floating around on  my tube in the lazy river did I finally spy it.

The secret hot tub.

I caught a glimpse of it as I came around the corner. There were only grown ups in there and it looked so peaceful and serene.

I promptly made my way over to the hidden cove and it was everything I imagined. Hot water, cozy, quiet. I could have fallen asleep in there.

So much nicer than that large lukewarm hot tub.

Why do so many people want to be in the bigger tub? Why do people want to be of this world and not of His?  Sure, it’s overflowing with people and seems to be where all of the action is,  but at the end of the day, it’s not going to make you feel any more satisfied.

I’m so happy I found the smaller hot tub. Blessed to be a part of His kingdom. It may be less crowded. It may be smaller. It may not  be as popular as other things, but it has changed my life completely.

Paul tells us in 2 Corinthians  to come out from among them and to be received.

Choose the smaller hot tub. It’s always open. It might be hard to take that first step but it won’t burn you. It may take  a moment to get used to but hang in there. It will be worth every step.

Because once you’re in, you will never want to leave.

2 Corinthians 6:17  Therefore, “Come out from them and be separate, says the Lord. Touch no unclean thing, and I will receive you.”

 

Leave a Reply

