100 Percent

We go through lots and lots of Lysol spray at our house. We have boys. We have pets. It gets messy. It gets smelly.

Did I mention we have boys?

There is always something that needs to be disinfected or an odor that has to be eliminated.

Don’t you wish you had a disinfectant for the devil when he shows up?

I wish I could  hit spray and watch him shrivel down to a speck of nothing and squish him with my foot.

I want to eliminate his presence completely.

I want to demolish the thoughts he likes to place inside my head.

I want to obliterate the insecurities he lets manifest inside my soul.

There is no easy way to get rid of the devil completely. He’s always lurking around. Ready to turn your world into chaos. Ready to watch you suffer and fall into despair.

While we don’t have an easy bottle of Devil Eliminator to carry around with us, thankfully we do have His Word. Recently, I have started memorizing more bible verses.   I have them taped to my bathroom mirror. I have them on my phone. Whenever I have a free second, I go over the verses in my head.

We don’t always have our bible to turn to at a moment’s notice. We don’t always have a pastor or a sister or a brother in Christ to call for help. Memorizing scripture can be your very first line of defense.

By arming myself with the Word, I can start to protect myself from the devil’s actions. I can be ready when he pounces.

And pounce he will.

Again and again.

My can of Lysol claims to kill 99.9 percent of bacteria. That’s an excellent  disinfectant but it’s still not 100 percent. It doesn’t get rid of all of the germs.

Thankfully, Jesus doesn’t want to eliminate just 99.9 percent of the devil.

He aims to knock him out completely.

As for God, his way is perfect:
The Lord’s word is flawless;
he shields all who take refuge in him.
Psalm 18:30

One thought on “100 Percent

Leave a Reply

