Nighttime Talks

I love my nighttime talks with my oldest son Brady. They are one of the best parts of my day. Even if I’m completely exhausted, I make time for these conversations because I know how much my son depends on them. He is my deep thinker, my constant ponderer, my biggest worrywart. Tonight the conversation ranged from being too short to make it into the NBA to worries about our house getting broken in to.

Always full of questions, I usually spend a good amount of our talk time reassuring Brady about God’s love and His faithfulness.

I don’t know how people do this parenting thing without Jesus. I’ll admit if I didn’t have the Bible to point to, or God to cling to, I would be completely lost as a mother.

Well, truthfully, I’d be lost period.

Brady worries about his future as an NBA basketball player. I hold my sweet little boy who will probably only make it to 5’8 (if he’s lucky) and tell him his future has already been decided. God already has a plan for him. Brady’s job is to listen to Jesus and take it from there.

Brady worries about our house being broken in to while he is at school. He thinks burglars are just dying to take his bear Teddy and his stuffed dog Arfie. I tell him even if this happens, it’s OK. He still has his family and whatever a robber takes is just a worldly possession. He can’t ever take Jesus from his heart.

Parenting is hard enough as it is. There is always something to worry about. Usually it’s multiple things and this world is not getting any easier. I am so thankful for a gracious God who gave us a handbook to help guide us along the way. I’m also thankful I can still come to him with my own fears and my own worries.
When I’m reassuring Brady about God’s plan, I’m reassuring myself too. When I’m telling Brady not to worry about things, I’m telling myself the same.

Whether we are 10 or 35 or 87, we will always need Him.

He’s always ready to listen.

Day or night.

Proverbs 16:20 Whoever gives heed to instruction prospers,
and blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

