Yearly Check Up

Eli had his yearly checkup today. He’s gained weight, grown taller (but don’t worry he’s still a shortie) and had a flu shot without crying for the first time (well he cried a little- but I didn’t have to pin him down!)

While the nurse weighed and measured my baby, I began thinking about how much I have grown over this past year. Not in height (ahhh ok maybe a little in weight) but  how I have grown more spiritually over the last several months.

It has been an unbelievable year for me and my walk with Christ. I have seen my life and my family’s lives transformed as we have decided to put Jesus at the forefront of all that we do.  Yet, I still feel like I have so much more to accomplish. Many times I feel torn between this world and His world. Caught up in trivial things, when I should be caught up in Him.

I know I will never stop growing when it comes to knowing Jesus. Even the most seasoned of Christians still has room to grow.  But just like a yearly health check up, it’s probably a good idea for me to do my own  yearly check up.

Or maybe a monthly, weekly or daily one.

Except this one will be a spiritual one.

Questions for my Spiritual Check Up:

Am I spending time with Jesus everyday? Am I spending time in the Word daily? Am I serving Him daily? Am I surrounding myself with encouraging people who also bring me closer to Him? Am I helping bring people closer to Him?

I know I am not going to always get it right.

I’ll screw it up daily.

But I can at least try and get it a little more right.

I want to take one step farther away from this world and one step closer to Him, each and every day.

Ephesians 4:15 but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ,

 

 

 

One thought on “Yearly Check Up

Leave a Reply

