Sweet Like Honey

Confession: I have been guilty lately of not answering my husband in the nicest of ways. Here’s how it usually goes- I am usually doing something, whether it be hanging with the boys, or working or even writing this post nightly and my husband will call my name. My response? “What?”

No so bad right? Except my “What?” is usually preceded or concluded with a big, heavy sigh or if it’s not a sigh, my “What?” is dripping with annoyedness.

Well this morning I got smacked in the face with my not so nice “Whats” Don’t worry, my sweet husband didn’t hit me because of my awful tone. No, instead, my ten year old son smacked his mother right back with his own annoyed, heavy sighed “What?”

Ouch.

It’s like I was listening to myself and I didn’t like it one bit.

Not good Mama.

I spend a lot of time speaking with my children about how to speak to others. We talk about how to treat waiters when ordering, we talk about how to talk to their teachers, their grandparents, their friends.

Obviously, none of that really matters when my boys hear me talking to their father with a tone that is anything but Christ-Like.

Brady and Eli should see hear their parents talking to each other with mutual respect. They should hear gentle words. They should hear (and see) their parents honoring Jesus through their own marriage.

 

The bible says pleasant words are like honeycomb, sweet and gentle to the soul. But I think it doesn’t just mean words. Your tone can be equally as damaging. Children pick up on everything. They don’t miss a beat.

Landon and I have begun praying with each other in the mornings. I am fortunate that my children see this as well. Last Friday, they joined us in our prayer time and wrapped their little arms around us as we prayed. It was such a precious and brief moment.

I hope they carry our prayer time with them into their own marriages, not their Mother’s hateful “Whats?” but instead, a feeling of mutual respect for their own wives.

I still have time to turn it around. I just need to start adding a little more honey to my own words.

Proverbs 16:24 Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.

 

2 thoughts on “Sweet Like Honey

  1. Being a wife, a lover, a mother, a nurturer, a daughter, a friend ,an employee and a Christian is challenging in all. You are so right in your thoughts on responding. There are those who would love to have some one to say “what ” to. Cherish the moment, take time and be still and know He is God. I love you , Pepa

    Like

Leave a Reply

