Holes

Do you have a pair of pants or another piece of clothing you just can’t stand to get rid of?  Pants you have worn so many times they have legitimate holes in them? Or a sweater you have snagged so many times it’s unraveling? My friends laugh at me because I tend to keep my clothes for a tad too long.  You can’t see any of the holes in my clothes but I know they are there. Unfortunately,  I am a creature of habit, and I really like these holey clothes. They fit me. They feel nice. I don’t want to get rid of them.

I have become accustomed to them.

There are other holes I hold onto as well. Holes that are not thought of so fondly. Holes made by insecurities. Holes made by bad experiences. Holes made by fear. These holes do not fit, do not feel nice and are not holes I want to keep.

Yet, I have become accustomed to them as well. I wear these holes like I wear the holes in my clothes. They are a part of me and are hard to let go of.

We aren’t meant to walk around with all of these holes inside of us.

Thankfully, while I don’t have someone to fix the holes in my clothes, I do have someone to help fix the other ones.

Jesus tells us to come to Him with all of our worries and all of our problems. He is not only ready to fix our holes but He’s also ready  to fill them. Fill them with His Love. His patience. His understanding.

To Him we are enough. He is ready and waiting. Ready for us to give everything over to Him. Ready to accept us just as we are. Ready to shower us with His devotion.

Ready for us to be a new kind of holy.

1 Peter 5:6-7 – Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you

 

2 thoughts on “Holes

Leave a Reply

