Cats & Dogs

Watching my cat and dog together is quite a sight. Trixie, my sweet and extremely playful black Lab, loves Ali Cat with all of her being. She wants to play with her, she wants to hang out with her, she  wants to be around her all of the time.

Yeah Ali Cat really doesn’t feel the same way.

An interaction between these two usually consists of lots of jumping, barking and growling.

Kind of like when my two boys fight but this time with animals.

Trixie doesn’t understand why Ali Cat despises her so and Ali Cat doesn’t understand why we let this huge beast into the house every day to torment her typically peaceful existence.

Ali Cat reminds me of myself a lot. Not only do I really (really, really) like snuggling in a nice warm bed for the better part of a day, but I also wonder why God places certain obstacles in my life that interrupt my own typically peaceful existence. Whether it’s a problem that turns my stomach into knots (and makes me want to hide under the bed a la Ali Cat)  or a person who questions my patience, pride or insecurities (and makes my Cat claws come out), I  sometimes feel like God is picking solely on me.

It’s so ridiculous to even think like that, but I’m human and I do. I get those “Why me?” moments all of the time. I start counting out all of the good things I’ve done and come to the conclusion that God must just have it out for me.

Thankfully, as my walk with Jesus grows, so does my understanding. I know whatever trials I may face are not meant for my destruction. I know whoever crosses my path is not placed there out of punishment.

God is always there for me. He is always on my side.

His plans are His plans.  I must choose to use any hardship I encounter as an opportunity to grow closer to Him.

I may not understand them, but I must always choose to believe they are what is best for me.

When Ali Cat has had about enough, I scoop her up, cuddle her in my arms and let that mean old dog out.

The next time I want to hide under the bed (or put my claws out)and cry “Why me?” I will, instead, look for Him to scoop me up.

I’ll tell Him to let that mean old Devil out too.

Isaiah 40:28 Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. 

One thought on “Cats & Dogs

Leave a Reply

