Just One More

It was hard going back to work this morning after such  a wonderful holiday weekend. It is nice to spend time with friends and family but then it goes by so fast and we are back to reality in what feels like a flash. Couldn’t we have just had one more day? Then we would have been fine. We could  go back without feeling like a stuffed turkey, wanting to stay in bed just a little bit longer.

Doesn’t it seem like we always just  need one more of everything?

One more day of vacation. One more paycheck. One more hour of sleep. One more cookie. The list goes on and on.

Just one more of this and one more of that and we will be happy.

The only thing we want less of is pounds right?

Why are we so fickle?  Why do we always want more than we have? Can’t we be satisfied with what God has given us in this very moment? I think about the Israelite’s and their lack of contentment when Moses went back up to Mt Sinai. All they had to do was obey. Nope. They couldn’t do it. They had to take matters into their own hands.

I do it all of the time. I think I know best. I put my own selfish needs first, even if God is telling me no. Being content with all of my many blessings is hard.

As I go into this holiday season, I want to try and remember it’s not just one more day off I need.. or one more present… or one more tasty dessert.

It’s time I start turning my “mores” toward Him.

More time praising Him. More time thanking Him. More time glorifying Him.

The one thing I am absolutely sure I need more of during this holiday season is Jesus.

And everyday after as well.

Philippians 4:19 And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

One thought on “Just One More

Leave a Reply

