Coffee Filter

I never have to worry about preparing my coffee in the morning. My sweet husband always makes sure it is ready for me. Even when he wakes up hours earlier than me (to go hang with deer and fish outdoors), he makes sure the pot is ready again for when I wake up.  He is a nurturer at heart and ensures his wife is going to be happy when she rises

And isn’t that first cup of coffee in the morning so marvelous? It rejuvenates me. Wakes me up. Prepares me for my day.

As wonderful as my precious coffee is, I know there is someone, not something, who is my true wake up call. Making a point to put Jesus first, every morning, is really what rejuvenates me, wakes me up and prepares me for my day.

My coffee maker husband also made a great point in Sunday school this morning. He is starting to think more metaphorically these days (I take blame/credit for that) and commented on how we should think of Jesus as our filter. He was talking about a car filter but I was,of course, thinking about coffee.

When we truly put Jesus first, He automatically starts to filter out all of the grounds (or dirt) in our lives and, instead, lets “the water” flow through. If we stay devoted in His word, if we look up instead of out and if we start to let go of our own selfish ways, our lives will look a whole lot less muddy.

Yes, sometimes our coffee maker jams. Yes, sometimes we get caught up in the coffee grounds. Yes, we will never be perfect. That’s only ever been done once.

Perfection will never be our end goal-but it should at least be our target. We can at least try and get a little closer to the cross, each and every day.

And when we do, watch and be amazed. Things will magically start to become a little bit clearer.

 

John 4:13-14 “Jesus said to her, ‘Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but those who drink of the water that I will give them will never be thirsty. The water that I will give will become in them a spring of water gushing up to eternal life.

 

 

One thought on “Coffee Filter

  1. Keeping our filters changed is a good thing for our cars and coffee makers, but the best thing about Jesus is He never needs changing! He is the same yesterday, today, and forever!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

