Halloween Candy

I have been sneaking into Eli’s Halloween candy for a few weeks now.  He’s eaten all of the things he likes and then leaves the “leftovers” for Mom to plunder.  Luckily, the leftovers are chocolate so I feel like I have gotten the better end of the deal.

My procedure for eating Halloween candy has been the same way for the past thirty years. Like Eli, I eat all of the things I like first and then make my way through the things I “sort of” like. First to go are the Milky Ways, Tootsie Rolls and Butterfingers. Then once those are gone, I  dig into the Snickers and the Krackles. It’s not that I don’t like them, they just aren’t my favorites.

Sometimes I serve God the same way. I do the things I like first and then, once I am done with those, I move onto the things that may not be my favorites, but I still feel an obligation to do.

God never intended for us to put serving into the leftover candy category.  He wants us to serve him enthusiastically.

So how do I fix this? I think the answer lies in knowing where I exactly should be serving. This comes from listening to Jesus and not to myself. When we know God has intentionally placed us where He wants us to be, serving earnestly becomes much easier.

Maybe my Krackles will even become Milky Ways.

Romans 12:11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord.

One thought on “Halloween Candy

Leave a Reply

