Praying Together

Landon and I have a hard time praying together. It’s really funny. He is my husband and my best friend. He knows me better than anyone else in this world, but the thought of us sitting down to pray together just seems so awkward.

Why is it like that? Maybe because our relationship with Jesus seems so personal that when we want to talk to Him together, it just doesn’t feel right? I don’t think that is how Jesus intended our relationship to be with Him. Obviously, he wants us to have a personal connection with Him, but he also wants us to be able to share that connection with others as well. He certainly wants us to be able to pray with people and not be awkward about it.

Sharing that connection aloud is one of the hardest things I battle with in my walk. I can write about Him all day long, but actually talking with Him about others makes my heart skip a little too fast sometimes. It’s getting easier the more I do it but it still makes me a little shaky sometimes.

My two boys, Brady and Eli, watch and analyze almost everything I do.   I want them to remember a mother who prayed with others. I want them to remember a mom who put prayer and sharing about Jesus at the top of her priority list. I certainly want them to remember a mother who prayed with her husband regularly. They will be husband’s too one day. Wouldn’t it be nice if they thought  praying with their wives is something all couples do?

So Landon doesn’t know this as I’m writing, and he’s asleep beside me, but we are going to take a step towards praying together in the Tucker Household. I know he prays for me every night and I pray for him.  Now I need him to start praying with me.

It might be awkward and we might be very uncomfortable-I foresee a little nervous laughter happening-but if there is one thing I have learned in this last year, sometimes you just have to be uncomfortable to be a Christian.

I  might as well be uncomfortable with the one who is stuck being married to be for the rest of our lives.

Matthew 18:20  For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them.

One thought on “Praying Together

Leave a Reply

