My First Role Model

I can still remember my brother Patrick letting me sleep at the end of his bed when I was little. I have always been afraid of the dark and there were a few nights I just didn’t want to sleep by myself. He would let me lay at the end of his bed until I felt safe enough to go back into my room. I am not sure he even remembers letting his annoying little sister into his room, but it’s a memory I hold close to my heart.

I get a little emotional when I talk about my brother. He is my only brother and he has always been the best brother a girl could ever ask for. There are pictures of us as babies ( we are only 11 months and 3 weeks apart) and he is trying to feed me in almost every picture. It’s probably the reason I learned to walk so late. There was really no reason to get moving if my older brother was always talking care of me.

He was the brother who let my Barbies play with his GI Joe dolls. He was the brother who stood up against the bullies on the school bus for me. He was the brother who inspired me to work hard, to better myself, to go to college and to try and reach all of the dreams I could ever imagine.

He was also the brother who was there the day I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.

He is the brother who still encourages me today. My brother has degrees from both UVA and Stanford Law schools but that is not what defines him. He has an incredible resume but that doesn’t define him either.  His love for Jesus defines him. His devotion to his wonderful family defines him. His rock solid faith helps me to hold on a little tighter to mine too.

Happy 36th Birthday to my big brother. Thank you for feeding me when I was little. Thank you for being my very first role model. Thank you for still inspiring me today.

Love,

Your First Little Sister

P.S-The other sisters feel the same way too

Philippians 2:2 make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

2 thoughts on “My First Role Model

Leave a Reply

