Missing the Exit

I missed the exit on my way home from class tonight. I was on the phone and distracted and drove right on past the exit. The sad thing is it took me about 10 minutes to realize I was not heading in the right direction.

I miss the exit a lot. I say the wrong things sometimes. Act the wrong way sometimes. I mess up on a daily basis. Last night, my sweet sister in law brought me a very yummy cupcake for my birthday from a very yummy cupcake shop. The cupcake looked perfect, sitting nicely in a tiny little box. Naturally, at my house, this didn’t last long. Eli picked the box up, flipped it over and out fell my cupcake,  frosting first, right onto the kitchen floor. To say I was mad is an understatement. As my husband put it, “You don’t mess with Mommy’s food.” Especially when you mess with a  cupcake from the best cupcake place in town.

Mommy was mad. I got over it, but not until after I reamed out my child for messing with things that weren’t his and for not following directions. I didn’t show as much grace as I should have in that moment.

I did eat the cupcake though, minus the frosting, and it was phenomenal.

I turned 35 this year and for the first time in my entire life I feel as if I have finally started to mature as a Christian. Jesus has become my best friend. We are walking together everyday. I’m talking with The Holy Spirit on a daily basis. He convicts me constantly.

But I still mess up. All of the time. Daily. Hourly.

Being a Christian doesn’t always mean you are perfect. Sure you are aiming for that. We are always aiming to be more Christlike. You are just going to miss the exit more than a few times.

Thankfully,  Jesus will forgive us when we end up on the wrong side of the road. He knows we are mere humans, caught up in the ways of this world. He just wants us to be convicted about what we do. He wants us to keep trying.  He will forgive us for all of the mistakes and sins we make on a daily basis.

He will even forgive me for yelling about a spilled cupcake.

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

One thought on “Missing the Exit

Leave a Reply

