Picture Day

Tomorrow is picture day and I have just finished running around like a chicken with my head cut off. Getting pants together, shirts, ties. Everything for my little boys to look like handsome little men in their school photos. My husband gets so annoyed. He doesn’t understand the picture obsession.  He was even more annoyed when I told him we were having family pictures taken in November.  He doesn’t see the point and, of course, he rallies the boys to his side. Unfortunately for them, I am the only girl in this house and I like pictures. So they have to deal with them too.

Pictures are a great way to remember the past. The question is, are they really an accurate representation? Sure my boys will look like sweet little angels tomorrow.  Yet, that’s not really what I will remember when they grow up is it? I will probably remember the dirty boys more than I remember the clean ones. The boys who run inside after playing outside for hours, covered in a day’s adventures. Or the boys who like to spend hours making slow motion action movies on my Iphone. Or the boys who snuggle up to me in the bed asking for one more good night kiss. Yes, the picture boys are handsome, but I think I like, and will remember, the real life versions even better.

When I think of who Jesus probably prefers, I think he likes  the  non- picture day version of me as well.   No matter how polished we may look on the outside, how put together we can appear,  how spiritually mature we may seem, Jesus prefers the real life versions of us too.

He doesn’t want to see a pretty picture. He wants to see the stress, the hurt and the pain.

In other words, He wants to see the hot mess.

He wants us to come to Him weary. He wants us to come to Him burdened. He wants us to come to Him with all of our struggles and all of our problems.

He can see past the pretty anyways.  He knows the real me. He knows the real you. He desires a personal relationship with each and everyone of us. We just have to be honest with Him. To show him that version.

The real life version.

Not just the picture in the frame.

Matthew 11:28 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

One thought on “Picture Day

Leave a Reply

