Prospering

My body finally seems to be succumbing to the  stress I have put upon myself over the past few months.  Don’t get me wrong,  it’s all good stress. I have the best job, and work with the best teachers, ever. I am getting my doctorate at a truly amazing school and learning so many things.

There’s just one little thing that trumps work and school.

My family.

They are more important than anything else and when they are all tied together, my weeks can be pretty overwhelming.

As a result, my left eye has started twitching and I have had to wear my glasses all week. I think my body is telling me to get a grip. More than likely it’s advising me to get more sleep over anything else. I tend to fight sleep the most, trying to get in every last second of my day.

I’ve realized when I’m on stress overload that I feel farther away from Jesus. I tend to put Him to the side and, instead, worry about all of the things of this world. My job is not more important than He is. My degree is not more important than He is. He should be my priority always.

Jesus wants us to prosper as Christians. In 3 John 2 He tells us “Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers.” His prosper is not meant to just live a life of financial riches. Although, trust me that would be nice sometimes.

It’s to live a life filled with His richness. Living out His word.  Living out His ways.  Focusing on what’s really important in our lives.

This afternoon, I came home and played football with my two sweet boys in the backyard. I  fell flat on my face trying to tackle Brady but we had a great time. We were living.

No, in fact, we were prospering.

When I fix my eyes back toward Him and not on this world , it feels like He has come home again.  I can feel Him right by my side. Ready to help me fight my battles. Ready to cover me with His everlasting love.

“Oh Jesus there you are.”

He’s been there all along of course.

He’s always there.

3 John 2  Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth.

(King James Version)

One thought on “Prospering

Leave a Reply

