The Walking Dead

Have you noticed lately how Americans are obsessed with zombies? It’s a little frightening. From Minecraft to The Walking Dead, zombies are everywhere. I’m almost afraid to sleep with the lights off. I even have a slight addiction with these scary creatures. Don’t call me on Sunday nights between 9 and 10 when The Walking Dead is on. I’m not going to answer.

Why the obsession? I like to think it’s because we are fascinated with how the main characters, who aren’t zombies, react to what is going on around them. Especially in a world that’s been completely turned upside down. Or  are we actually relating to the zombies themselves? They trudge around, unaware of anything going on around them, except the need to feed? They are only worried about one thing. Themselves.

Yikes.

Tonight, as I was making a purchase at a book store, I could hear a violin playing in the background. Worrying only about myself and being in a state of self-absorption, I didn’t even realize the music I was hearing was coming from an actual man, playing an actual violin, no less than 10 feet away from me. I simply thought it was the radio playing overhead.

Yikes.

Are we dragging ourselves around, with a “Me, Me, Me” mentality, focusing on things that don’t really matter in the long run? Are we going about our daily lives on autopilot?

Are we all, in fact, becoming our own version of The Walking Dead?

Jesus died so we could be born again. But what are we doing with His sacrifice?

Let’s enter the world of the living again. But this time let’s live for Jesus. Make Him the center of our world and put Him before anything else. Not our jobs. Not our friends. Not our selfish ways.

Paul reminds us that whatever we do, we do all for the Glory of God. We are not to be concerned with the idols of this world.

Nothing should ever stand in our way.

Maybe it’s time I woke up and listened to the music.

His music.

It’s been playing right in front of me all along.

1 Corinthians 10:31 “Whether therefore you eat, or drink or whatever you do, do all for the glory of God” 

2 thoughts on “The Walking Dead

  1. Everyone and everything influences some one somewhere, is it a good or bad influence? We are to live our lives in a way that shows the greatness of Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

