Changing Tires

It was just one of those days that seemed like it was never going to end. l was having a little pity party on my way to class this afternoon. I missed my family. I was tired. It was raining.  I had no umbrella. Poor, poor pitiful Paige.

I was just a few miles away from my building, when I noticed a man trying to change his tire, in the middle of the torrential down pour. He happened to be on the opposite side of the highway from me. Not that I would have been of any service to him if I had pulled over. Pretty sure I would just be in the way and not of any real help to him! I have never changed a tire. Just as I was about to pass him, I noticed a truck on my side of the road and a man sprinting across the highway, darting through the rain, going over to help him.

As I watched  him run, now from my  rear-view mirror, I could not believe a man would park on the opposite side of the road and get soaking wet just to help another person out.

Maybe he knew the guy, maybe he didn’t.  I would like to think he didn’t. I would like to think he just felt called to help out another fellow human being, who truly was having a really bad moment.

It’s nice to see these reminders sometimes. Especially when I am complaining about my non-real problems and then an act of compassion happens literally right in front of me.  It’s almost like a smack in the face.

Sometimes I need a good smack to make me realize I have so many blessings. More than I can  count. So many blessings that I should be paying it forward all of the time.

Not just sometimes.

The man in the road tonight wasn’t afraid to get soaking wet to help out a fellow man. His discomfort wasn’t his first thought. As a Christian, my discomfort should never be my first thought.

My first thought shouldn’t even be about me. It should be about Jesus. Then it should be a question of how am I going to show this other person love in a Christ like manner?

Jesus was never afraid to get uncomfortable. He wasn’t concerned about Himself. His love for others was endless.

I want to be a run across the road in the rain kind of person. That’s what Jesus would have done.

But first I need to figure out how to help change a tire.

Galatians 6:2 Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

3 thoughts on “Changing Tires

  1. If you had taken my high school Drivers Ed class you would know how to change a tire, and check fluid levels. It;s never too late to learn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

