The “Old” Mommy

Brady and Eli absolutely hate when I straighten my hair. To them, Mommy looks different. I’m not the “Old” Mommy they have known all their lives. “Old” Mommy always had curly hair and that’s how they like it. They don’t want me to change.

Sometimes I don’t want to change either. Sometimes I want to stay the same “old” me. Even though I have entered into a more intimate relationship with Jesus, the same old me still likes to come out in full force.  Old me likes to argue with the new me. The old me is back and ready to go and the new me is hiding, nowhere to be found. Not until I feel the tug of The Holy Spirit at my heart, do I realize I need to check myself.

How do I even know there’s a new me? Maybe because I can feel that tug now. The old me didn’t know what that felt like.

The new me knows it as conviction.

I  promised my boys I would wear my hair curly for them tomorrow. They gave me their sweet smiles and I could tell this made them happy. They love the “old mommy” hair.

My boys can’t tell by my hair that I am growing in my walk with Jesus. But I sure hope they can tell it by watching my faith grow daily.  Although my walk is still bumpy, there is a new me inside this old mommy body, ready to glorify Jesus as much as possible.

I can do that with curly or straight hair.

He doesn’t care how I wear it.

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

2 thoughts on “The “Old” Mommy

Leave a Reply

