Bulls Eye

Lately, I have spent many Fall afternoons watching my three boys ( the 2 little ones and the one big boy) practice archery in our back yard. There is a lot of testosterone going on out there. I think my sons feel like “manly men” as they pull back their arrows and practice shooting their bows. They are still novices to the sport and, most of the time, they end up missing the target. But if my boys are anything, they are persistent. They keep trying.  Eventually, they will be able to hit the target more than they miss it.

Their father is very patient with them as they try and perfect their shots. He advises them to take their time, watch their balance and to focus all of their energy on pulling back the arrow.

As I  continue to grow on my walk with Christ, I sometimes feel like I am missing the target more than I hit it. There are multiple factors that can knock me off balance.  Whether it’s pride, jealousy or trying to control things instead of letting God control them, I certainly fall short all of the time.

But there are also times when I  feel  as if I am getting a little bit closer to the Ultimate Target.   When my time is centered around Him. When I use Him to balance everything else. When I focus all of my strength on  nothing else but Him.

That bulls eye is growing bigger, slowly but surely.  I know I will never be a perfect shot.  There was only one man who hit the target right every time. I will fall short. We all will.

But I would rather be closer to the red than off the board completely.

When you shoot an arrow, you have to learn to “develop your stance.” Your body must be positioned in a certain way to get the best arrow flight.

Develop your own stance for Jesus. Keep your eyes focused on the ultimate target. Don’t let the meaningless things of this world get in between you.    They will try to knock you off balance, distract you or have you aim somewhere else.

When you give yourself over to Christ, nothing will stand in your way.

Just remember to aim high.

Hebrews 12:2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Writer’s Note: I apologize for any bow hunting terminology I may have defined incorrectly in this post. My husband, the bow hunter, was asleep when I started writing 😉 

2 thoughts on “Bulls Eye

Leave a Reply

