His House

I had never really been a part of a church family until I joined my church at 31 years old. Growing up, we had visited many churches but were never members of a particular church. I was a very shy child.   I never felt like I  fit in when we would enter through a church door.  Sometimes I felt left out. Sometimes I felt like people were staring. Looking back, it was probably me more than anyone else, but I always felt as if I didn’t belong.

I felt alone.

Fast forward, years later, to the day my husband decided it was time for his family to belong to a church. For years we  thought we could do the Christian thing on our own. We had joined a church but didn’t go regularly. It wasn’t working. We needed more. We needed a foundation. We needed a family.

I still remember the first time we visited. I remember the first people who spoke to me. I remember feeling as if I wasn’t standing out. I felt like I was where I belonged.

My dad passed away not long after we joined our church. I am not sure I would have made it through without my church family.  I can’t begin to tell you the acts of kindness that were given to me and to my family during that time. They lifted us  up when we so desperately needed strength.

We had found a home.

When I think about my growth as a Christian, I think about all of the people who have helped me along the way. From bible studies with mentors who exhibit every ounce of Proverbs 31 class, to friends who show me daily what it means to be a woman walking with God, I have come farther than I could ever have imagined.

I know many people who have been burned by church families. Who have given their all to their church and ended up hurt and bitter. Satan loves to create anger and hostility in the church. He loves nothing more to see it in chaos and disarray. Trust in Jesus to get you through the hard times. We have had them ourselves. Stay committed to your church. Build relationships with people you can trust.  Remind yourself we don’t go to church for it to serve us.

We go to  church to serve God.

If you are not part of a church family, you are missing out. God wants you in His house.  To be with a community, lifting each other up and helping each other grow spiritually. Serving Him, alongside other believers.

We aren’t ever meant to do it alone.

1 Corinthians 14:26 What then, brothers? When you come together, each one has a hymn, a lesson, a revelation, a tongue, or an interpretation. Let all things be done for building up.

3 thoughts on “His House

Leave a Reply

