Sticky Notes

I like to write little “Mommy Love Notes” to stick in my boy’s lunches whenever they pack. Sometimes I write a Bible verse, and sometimes I just write a plain ” I love you” note.

Today, Brady pulled his “I love you Brady” note out at lunch and a friend happened to see it and laugh at it.  Tonight, he came home and asked me not to write him anymore notes.

Apparently my 10 year old is a “big kid” now and notes from Mommy are not “cool.”

Seriously, like a knife in my heart.

Before I had a complete and total “I’m not ready for you to grow up.” breakdown, I asked him if, instead,  I could write him secret notes. Ones that just say things like “See you later Brady” but they really mean “I love you.”

My “big kid” thought about it for a second and then agreed that secret notes would be appropriate. He just can’t have any kids laughing at him for having smooshy Mommy notes.

I explained to him how I just wanted him to know that I love him in the middle of the day sometimes. My 10 year old, wiser beyond his years, gave me a hug and said “I know you love me all the time.”

It was enough to melt my heart for sure.

Do you ever feel like you have to have a “secret note” type of thing about Jesus? You find yourself around a bunch of non-believers, and suddenly it’s really hard to pull out that sticky that proclaims your love for Him? Sure you still love Him, but you just aren’t going to broadcast it to this crowd. You can love him in your heart, but you aren’t going to let the world know that.

After all, you might get laughed at.

Scripture tells us to go out into the world and proclaim our love for the Lord where ever we may go. It’s not enough to simply have a hidden, secret note relationship with Jesus.

I was one of those people for a long time, and yes, sometimes still, it is uncomfortable for me to express my true devotion to Jesus. Fear of getting laughed at or ridiculed can cause me to not speak up, or to not give my God the credit He always deserves.

The problem is I am still of this world more frequently than I want to be. Worrying about things that don’t really matter at all. When we start living for His world, and making a life truly devoted to Jesus, then nothing can stop us from telling everyone we meet about His kingdom.

You’re going to need a  lot more sticky notes for that too.

Deuteronomy 32:3
“For I proclaim the name of the LORD; Ascribe greatness to our God!

One thought on “Sticky Notes

Leave a Reply

