The Normal Station

I am driving along in the car the other day and Eli, my youngest son, asks me if he can change the Christian radio station to a “normal” station.

Normal station?

Wow.

“What exactly is a normal station?” I ask him

“You know” he replies. “The other ones. The one’s everyone else listens too.”

Sigh.

So to my eight year old son, the Christian radio station is not considered normal. Is it considered abnormal? Is it weird? I don’t think it embarrasses him. He likes singing along to Christian music just as much as secular music. He can  go just as quickly from a pop song to a Mercy Me song back to a pop song again.

But he doesn’t consider it normal.

What is normal now in this world? I know it’s not being a Christian. We have becoming abnormal. Even to my eight year old son. He knows it’s abnormal. We stick out. We pray in public. We go to church on Wednesdays and Sundays. We talk about Jesus.

God wants us to be the light in the darkness. We are set apart. When you are set apart, you stick out.

God wants us to stick out.

“Hey Eli” I say.

I turn the radio down slowly and place my hand in his.

“We aren’t supposed to be normal.”

Hebrews 10:10-12 We have been set apart as holy because Jesus Christ did what God wanted him to do by sacrificing his body once and for all.

One thought on “The Normal Station

Leave a Reply

