Who’s the Boss?

Eli has a close a friend who we always lovingly refer to as his “frenemy.” They love each other one day, then they dislike each other the next. His mother and I finally figured out the reason for the constant seesaw is because both of our sons are the “babies” of the family and are basically used to getting their way. Eli can be a tad bossy and he finds it difficult when he comes across someone he can’t just tell what to do. Nevertheless, the boys are very close and play together constantly. His mom and I are used to the squabbles. Usually we just ignore them.  We know they will be begging to play together again the next day.

Do you sometimes have an up/down relationship with the Lord?  I hate to admit it, but there are moments when I get frustrated because I can’t “boss” Jesus around.  He doesn’t do what I want Him to do, or what I have “planned” for Him to do, and it really makes me mad. I want to be in control of my life. I have worked hard for things. I have made sacrifices. Why do I have to wait for Him to decide my fate?

But like Eli’s relationship with his buddy, these thoughts fade quite quickly. Especially when I realize His plans are far better than what I ever could have imagined. He is in control always and when I give myself, and my plans, to him completely, without fighting, I am going to enjoy the journey so much more. I just need to learn how to trust him completely.

After all, there is no bossing Jesus around.

Proverbs 3:5-6 ESV Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

One thought on “Who’s the Boss?

Leave a Reply

