Worth It

There is a fantastic scene in the movie War Room where Clara (a woman strong in her faith) asks Elizabeth ( a woman not so strong) how she likes her coffee and how often she prays. Elizabeth admits her life is busy, other things take priority and she has little time to pray. When Elizabeth drinks the coffee Ms. Clara has just given her, she is surprised to sip a cup of lukewarm coffee and not the burning hot cup like Ms. Clara.

It’s a message we can all reflect on. How do you take your coffee? Out of the entire Bible, this verse scares my husband Landon the most. Revelations declares if you are lukewarm, God will spit you from His mouth. It’s even worse than being cold. Landon always points out if you are cold, you may know not Him yet. If you are lukewarm, however, you know him, you are just choosing to not be on fire for Jesus. Other priorities take center stage in your life. He is not at the center of your world.

I don’t want to be lukewarm. I don’t want to be cold. I want to be steaming hot for my God. I want people to know, when they see me,  that I am never alone. He is with me. He is beside me. He is inside my heart.

I want my actions to show this too, not just my words, and not just what I feel. I am talking the talk and walking the walk.

With Him.

I will fail a million and one times. Sin is in us too. It’s our nature to be selfish and put other things before Jesus. But I am going to keep trying. And by trying I mean I am going to make every effort I can to make Jesus my priority. Jesus died for us. When I want to let my own selfish ways take over, I need to remember what He did for me. What He did for all of us.

It’s more than anyone else will ever do for me.

It’s more than anyone else will ever do for you.

He is worth it. He is worth all of it.

Revelation 3:15-16 “‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.

3 thoughts on “Worth It

  1. sow the seeds like the farmer, let Jesus do the watering and nurturing, some will not germinate, some will die in the weeds, some will be trampled on, but those seeds that stay with HIM wil produce fruit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

