Surprises

My oldest son is always finding ways to surprise me. Just when I think I have him figured out, Brady will do something and it completely does away with how I view him. I  think he’s shy, and then he will order his meal all by himself at a restaurant. I  think he’s scared, and he will start sleeping with all of his lights off. Tonight, he started dancing to this silly song and I realized  my sweet boy actually has some moves! I have always thought he wasn’t really a dancer, especially when his brother is the one always trying to steal the spotlight, but Brady’s got a little bit of rhythm too. He is always full of surprises.

Jesus is always full of surprises too. Just when I think I have this life thing figured out, He finds a way to show me that I don’t. Not by a long shot. Whether it’s with the making of an unexpected, but life changing friend, or a moment that  takes my  breath away, Jesus is always finding ways to astonish me. He has so many plans for me. There are many more surprises along the way.

Thank you Jesus for life’s surprises. I know when you created me, you planned out the road map that lay ahead. Sometimes the twists and turns can catch me off guard, but I can be rest assured, knowing You have a reason for all of it. In the meantime, I will savor the memory of my little boy dancing in the car, making his Mommy laugh and give thanks to all that You have planned for me.

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Leave a Reply

