Far Richer

I am a teacher married to a teacher. I drive a 2010 Hyundai with over 120,000 miles on it.   Most of my clothes are from Target or Marshalls.  Still I know I have more than most of the people in this world.  Yet there are times when I get a wee bit jealous or wistful of others. Would I like a nicer car? Sure. Would I like to own a really, really nice pair of jeans? Yes I would.

Is it a natural human instinct to always want more than you have? What about to sometimes resent the ones who have more than you? My father in law says it’s jealousy, not money, that is the real root of all evil.  People want what others have and they become resentful when they can’t acquire it. Jealousy can turn people into the worst version of themselves.  Look at what it did to Saul.   Saul loved David. David became a great man. Saul became jealous, completely ruining his life because of his jealousy.

We are not glorifying Jesus when we are envious of others. God wants us to love Him and to love each other. He also wants us to be content and to be happy with all that He has already given us. Isn’t that enough? Truthfully, we don’t even deserve it.

Once we have fully accepted Christ into our hearts, the only thing we should truly desire is an even deeper relationship with Him.  Our eyes should continue to look up and not on the things of this world.  Whether we want that new pair of jeans, a new house or a new job, none of it compares to the love He has for us.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Far Richer

Leave a Reply

