Get Out of Jail Free Cards

I had the pleasure of attending night two of our Keep It Shut Bible Study last night.  If you have not read this book, please, please purchase a copy of it immediately! It is one every woman needs to read. Using our words wisely and graciously, at all times, is much easier said than done.

Or is it?

Karen Ehman, the author of Keep It Shut, points out sometimes it is easier to keep it shut for others, just not the ones we are closest too.

It’s kind of like how our kids behave when they aren’t around us. Typically, they go to school and ,amazingly, they  behave like normal functioning individuals. They listen, they work, they clean up, they do all of the things they are supposed to do. At conferences, their teachers tell you how well behaved they are or how hard they work and you, as their parent, look at them and say “For real?”

Kidding. Kidding. Sort of.

Because, as we parents know, it can be a totally different story when they get off the bus. They know they can show their worst selves around us because we are going to love them anyways. I’m not going to give you away because you refuse to pick up your race cars or throw a tantrum because you wanted chicken nuggets and not fish sticks.

Well not today anyways.

I hate to say it but it’s the same thing on the flipside.  I can snap at my kids or husband for little things because I’m tired or hungry or just annoyed. They aren’t going to give me away either.

Well they haven’t yet at least.

Why can it sometimes be harder to show the most grace to the people we love the most? Is it because we know we are already covered by their love? We have an unlimited amount of Get Out of Jail Free cards with them? The three people I treasure above anyone else in this world should receive my utmost grace. My words to them should always be thoughtful and Christ-like. Even when I am mad. Or frustrated. Or annoyed.

I tell my boys all of the time to think before they speak. Count to ten if you need to.  Take a deep breath. Ask yourself “What would Jesus say?”

It’s time to start listening to my own motherly advice.

My Get Out of Jail Free cards might not always be unlimited.

Colossians 4:6 Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person. 

Leave a Reply

