A Million Less Problems

Whenever I let my boys hijack my car radio, they  love listening to this one song called”Problem” by Arianna Grande. In the song, she is  deciding whether or not to take back her former boyfriend. Apparently he’s not really the most stand up of guys.  Finally, she decides she’s got “one less problem” without him and she would be a fool to give it another go.

As Brady and Eli were singing the song yesterday in the back of the car,  I started thinking about how many fewer problems I now have because Jesus is my Savior. It’s not one less problem without Him. It’s a million less problems with Him in my life.

Don’t get me wrong, there are still problems. Walking with Jesus doesn’t eliminate them.  Sometimes accepting Him into your life can cause you pain, or heartache or isolation.

But it’s different.

Many of the burdens of living a life not filled with His glory have been lifted away.

I  have Him by my side. Talking me through them. Walking  me through them.  Getting me through them.  Even though there is worry, and there is pain, and there is heartache, the joy I have now because I know He loves me helps to ease my suffering.

I know the lyrics of the song are not about Jesus but I like to think, in my own  mind, they could be.   She’s got one less problem without her troubled boyfriend. Now she can start to fix her eyes upward.   There is room to accept someone else into her life. One who will never let her down.

John 16:33  I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

One thought on “A Million Less Problems

Leave a Reply

