Just Being

One of Brady’s favorite parts of the day is our nightly story time. He is almost ten,  every day growing more and more into a young man,  but he still loves snuggling up with his mommy (I mean mom) and reading books together.

As much as he loves listening to the stories we read, it’s the time  after we read he likes even more. The time between story time and bed time, when we are just hanging out, talking about the story, or our days, or our tomorrows. Sometimes we don’t talk at all. We are just still. It’s this quiet time, when we are not rushing around, not checking our electronics, not worrying about what to do next, or where to go next, my sweet boy treasures the most. He has mom all to himself,even if it’s for just a few minutes.

It’s the kind of time I need more of with Jesus.   I spend time with Him in the morning, reading His word and praying with Him, but I don’t spend a lot of time just being. I’m so used to always moving, always being on the go, even my morning bible time can be hurried. It’s hard to just be still.

Jesus wants me all to himself too. Without the rushing. Without the constant moving around. Without the never ending To Do List.

Next time, after my prayers have been said and my verses have been read, I will take a few minutes, a few minutes to just be still. Sitting with the Lord and having Him all to myself.

2 Thessalonians 3:16  Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all.

2 thoughts on “Just Being

Leave a Reply

