Coming Home

I lost Eli on Saturday night for thirty seconds.  It was the longest thirty seconds of my life. I was distracted, digging in my purse for tickets and I lost sight of him. We weren’t in Target either. We were in the Inner Harbor in Baltimore. You can imagine my panic.  The relief I felt when I found him was overwhelming and I didn’t want to let him go for the rest of the night. If you are a parent who has ever lost a child in a public place, you know exactly the kind of agony I am describing.

Do you think Jesus feels this way when He loses us? When we are walking hand in hand with Him and we get distracted? We become preoccupied by things of this Earth and start to loosen our grip on His hand.

What about when we completely let go? We lose sight of him for greed or pride or lust? We decide our way is better and start to think we can give it a go without Him?

Our God  lets us make our own decisions.  He will let us loosen our grip. He will even let us let go.

Thankfully He also lets us come back.

As I pulled into our driveway last night, Eli was almost asleep. He sat up, groggy and out of sorts from the long drive.  His daddy gently pulled him out of the car to embrace him and bring him inside. I can imagine how happy Eli was to see him. I know how happy his father was to hold him.

Our Father loves when we finally pull back into the driveway. He is ready to open the door and grab us up. We might  loosen our grip or even get lost again but He is always waiting, ready to take our hand, hoping to hold onto us forever.

Ephesians 1:7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace

One thought on “Coming Home

Leave a Reply

