First Class

Have you ever met someone who simply intrigues you? There’s just something about him or her, you can’t ever really put your finger on it, but it makes them stand out from the crowd?

One of my  mother’s closest friends fascinated me when I was growing up.  She was like a second mother to me and while we had a number of things in common (she was a librarian and I was a complete book nerd), I still could never quite put my finger on why I wanted to be around her so much.

I get it now though.

My mother’s friend is a devout Christian.  She was an example to me growing up and I didn’t even realize it. Her church was her second home, she spoke the Word, she was kindhearted, always put others before herself and never spoke badly of anyone. She went through heartache and grief but her faith was never shaken. She was a steady anchor in my life which, at times, was full of many storms.

Last Sunday, as I was getting ready for church, I received a text from this anchor. I haven’t seen her in years but just seeing her name brightened my soul.  The text was a bible verse (Luke 4:18) and  she wanted me to know she was thinking about me that morning.

Earlier this year, I read a book called “The Set Apart Woman” by Leslie Ludy. In this  book she explains what it means to be a woman who doesn’t stand with the crowd. “Set Apart” women choose to be different. They choose to turn their backs on this world and fix their eyes UP.

My mom’s friend stood out from the crowd. Her back was turned and her eyes were always focused above.  She may have been set apart but, trust me, she wasn’t ever alone. In fact, she was sitting in first class, with the VIP Himself.

Philippians 1:27 Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in the one Spirit,[a] striving together as one for the faith of the gospel

One thought on “First Class

Leave a Reply

