Habits

Yesterday I read that it takes 21 times of doing the same thing, over and over again, to form a habit.

21?  So if I make my bed 21 times in a row, will that become a habit? If I have Eli and Brady hang their towels up 21 times after a shower, will it become a habit? I’m not so sure about that.  I think their habit has already been formed. The habit of leaving it on the bathroom floor.

I ended up researching it some more and, apparently, it’s more like 2-6 months. Plus it depends on the habit AND the person. I have a feeling I’m more on the 6 months end of the spectrum. I have a hard time forming habits. It’s just not how I operate. My husband, on the other hand, is an entirely different story. He is really cute with his habits. For example, he sets out  his morning breakfast materials  every  night before bed. I smile to myself  when I see his breakfast bowl, spoon and banana on the counter.    Then he can be not so cute  like how he always turns the fan on as soon as he enters our already very COLD bedroom. This habit drives me bananas.

One habit  I am pretty good about is my morning bible time. It’s truly the best part of my day. I get up, work out (blah that’s another forced habit) and then curl up at our dining room table with my coffee (that my husband set up the night before), my Bible, my devotional book and my prayer journal.

I read my devotional first.  I do this  because so many times I will find a connection with it in my Bible. It happens all of the time! God…You are so Great!

Next, is my Bible time. I have actually been reading the Bible from start to end.   When I first started reading the scriptures years ago, I started  with the Book of John but now I really want to read from the beginning. Many people I know just open it up and read whatever passage they feel God is calling for them to read that day. Others read whatever goes along with their devotional verse. It really is what you feel called to do.

Lastly, it’s my prayer journal time. I write down my prayers for friends, family members, myself. I also  use it as a place to talk openly with God about my fears, frustrations and my thank you’s and celebrations. I don’t think He wants to always hear about the bad stuff. We need to make sure we are acknowledging Him in all of the good parts of our lives as well.

Exercising may rejuvenate my body in the morning but prayer and Bible time rejuvenates my soul. Afterwards, I am ready to start my day with God. I also have a feeling that I’m not alone in this journey. He’s right by my side and, together, we can get through anything.

Matthew 4:4

But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

Leave a Reply

